Subscribe to BOOOOOOOM TV

The full length (e)motion picture accompaniment to Janelle Monáe’s latest album, Dirty Computer, strings together music videos directed by Alan Ferguson, Emma Westenberg, Andrew Donoho and Lacey Duke into an elaborate sci-fi saga that reflects both Monáe’s personal exploration of identity and broader celebration of nonconformity.


Janelle Monáe as Jane 57821
Tessa Thompson as Zen
Jayson Aaron as Ché

Also Starring
Michelle Hart as Virgin Victoria
Dyson Posey as Cleaner #1
Jonah Lee as Cleaner #2

Executive Producer:
Janelle Monáe
Nate “Rocket” Wonder
Chuck Lightning
Mikael Moore
Julie Greenwald

Co-Executive Producer:
Kelli Andrews
Ian Blair
Alan Ferguson

Director: Andrew Donoho, Chuck Lightning
Writer: Chuck Lightning
Additional Story Ideas and Vision:
Janelle Monáe
Nate “Rocket” Wonder
Alan Ferguson

Music Videos Written and Directed by
Alan Ferguson
Emma Westenberg
Andrew Donoho
Lacey Duke

Producer: Nicole Acacio, Ian Blair
Associate Producer: Deonna Young-Stephens

Music Videos Produced by
Justin Benoliel
Judy Craig
Melissa Ekholm
Maya Table
Ian Blair

Original Music Score: Nate “Rocket Wonder, Wynne Bennett
Wardrobe: Alexandra Mandalkorn
Hair: Nikki Nelms
Makeup by: Jessica Smalls
Director of Photography: Todd Banhazl
Production Design: Fernanda Guerrero
Editor: Andrew Donoho, Taylor Brusky
Music Video Editor: Deji LaRay
Choreography: Jemel McWilliams
Sound Design: Jackie! Zhou


Click here to see previous posts from Janelle Monáe’s work here, if you haven’t already!

© Booooooom Design Inc.